First among equals!

I was thoroughly humbled last night to be awarded the New South Wales ICT Professional of the Year for 2013 by the Australian Information Industry Association.  While the award itself is a great honour, I was so impressed by many of the other award winners and was excited to see all the great projects happening here in this great state of ours.  There’s a lot more innovation and talent here than we sometimes give ourselves credit for I think.  So I just though I’d list out (below) those other winners as I think they deserve a great deal of praise…

Thanks again to the AIIA for this great privilege, I’m most grateful.


ThoughtWorks for GetUp! and ControlShiftControlShift.


IP Payments and Quickflix: Quickflix multi-currency and multi-channel secure payment solution.


OzForex: White label foreign payment solutions.


Capgemini Australia: Detective HANA.


eHealthWise: THELMA.


Geomatic Technologies and RailCorp NSW: GT AIMS in support of RailCorp mechanised track patrol process.

New product

Avoka Technologies: Transact – transaction experience management platform.

Postgraduate tertiary student

University of New South Wales (UNSW) school of computer science and engineering student Liang Tang was recognised for the development of a reconfigurable pipelined coprocessor for multimode communication application.

Research and development

CSIRO ICT centre: Remote mobile tele-assistance platform.

Secondary student project

Oxford Falls Grammar School student Deinyon Davies: In Road.


Object Consulting: Our Green Home.


Fujitsu Australia and New Zealand: CloudFor-J.

Undergraduate tertiary student

University of Wollongong (UOW) students Jake Shelley, Veronica O’Gorman, Joseph Pons and Andrew Booth: UOW Finder.

ICT educator of the year

UNSW associate professor Richard Buckland.

ICT woman of the year

M&M Consulting Services business improvement consultant Maggie Alexander.